Introduction to Care of Objects in Indigenous Cultural Centres Webinar Series

  • 02 Feb 2021
  • 12:00 PM
  • 23 Feb 2021
  • 1:00 PM
  • Information regarding zoom links and further notice will be sent to registrants in mid-January.

Registration


Register

Introduction to Care of Objects in Indigenous Cultural Centres Webinar Series

This is a four-part webinar series that serves as an introduction to the preservation of material culture. The intended audience for these seminars is staff from Indigenous cultural centres (or other members of the community) with little to no knowledge of how to care for and protect a mixed collection.  The webinar series will focus more on materials that tend to be found in the collections of Indigenous cultural centres (e.g. organics such as plant fibers, skin, leather).  The webinar workshop will address object significance and how preventive conservation methods can help to protect this, but more importantly, there is also discussion about choosing preservation materials and methods that are appropriate to the significance and the intended use of the object. 

Topics include: the ten agents of deterioration, recognizing damage and condition reporting, introduction to preventive measures, accessible and effective methods, and equipment to reduce deterioration.

Learning objectives Upon completion of this webinar series participants will have acquired knowledge of: the damaging effects of the most common agents of deterioration, basic deterioration problems of many organic and inorganic materials, how to examine an object and document it in the form of a simple condition report, preventive conservation measures, accessible and effective methods and equipment to reduce deterioration.

This seminar is not intended for conservators, conservation technicians or anyone already familiar with the basics of collections care.

Dates: February 2, 9,16,23, 2021

Time: The meeting will be one hour long at 2pm Atlantic (2:30 Newfoundland), 1pm Eastern, 12pm Central, 11am Mountain, 10am Pacific (45 minutes presentation and 15 minutes Q&A hosted by moderator).

Cost: Free

Registration:

Registration will be made available online on the AMA website.  Registration links will be provided with registration poster in early January.

Information regarding zoom links and further notice will be sent to registrants in mid-January.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software